RS Warrior Forum banner

K&N Air Filter ?

11K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  messx03 
#1 ·
i am trying to decide wether to just get K&N filters to replace the stock filters or if i should go with the ones that

completely bypasses the stock intake and mount right under the tank,in other words the visible intakes would just be for looks(non-functioning).

does anyone know if one gets you better performance then the other?

i appreciate any info.

i'm a warrior newbie and lovin' every minute of it

#2 ·
I can't speak from personal experience, but from what I've read here, the BAK (Big Air Kit) is what you're speaking of where the KN filters mount directly to the throttle bodies under the tank, or directly to "velocitystacks" that are then mounted to your throttle bodies.There are a few options for doin this:

Churchkey's VBAK

Baron's BAK

Patrick Racing BAK

Do It Yourself (DIY) BAK

there may be others, but these are the most popular. Each has significant performance gains. Churchkey's and PR's are said to be the best but prepare to pay around $200+ for these kits. The route I am going this coming weekend is the DIY BAK. you can do a search for DIY BAK and should find plenty of info on how to do it. Also check out Redhorse's website via his gallery page for detail inst. Good luck!

#5 ·
Yes sir, you will improve air intake by using K&N filters in both your stock airbox positions (one under the tank and one behind the right-side airbox). If you have a Speedstar (S*) air scoop on the RIGHT side then it uses the same K&N filter that is under your tank. BTW your tank is set up to act as a scoop, you don't want to block air access to the under-front of your gas tank.