RS Warrior Forum banner

Belt chirp at low rpm.

2K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  gchalifo 
#1 ·
In august my 07 started making a chirping noise if I am pulling low rpms. Bellow 2000. If I give it more gas it goes away. At first we thought it was dust and dew on the belt because it won't do it all the time. Doesn't matter if the belt is clean or dirty it does what it does. Only can get it to make the sound when riding it, not on stand. How worried do I need to be and where do I start. I'm not a mechanic keep in mind. Lol Thanx guys.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Motorcycle.com Free App

#3 · (Edited)
Get a ten-pound belt tension gauge and a copy of the service manual. Print the belt tension and rear wheel alignment pages, then read them twice because sometimes steps are scanned-over or it sounds confusing the first time.

Then raise the rear wheel off the ground and loosen the belt. Then re-adjust it to spec in sequence using the tension gauge and starting from the pulley's 'tightest spot' as shown in the service manual. Tension the belt while you also align the rear wheel.

Why: Its generally true that you should be able to remove the rear axle without loosening the belt tension if the tension is previously correctly set, but working in reverse to simply adjust the belt tension so you can remove the axle leaves far too much room for the belt to be too loose and for the rear wheel to be mis-aligned.

#4 ·
my belt chirps just like you have described. it has for almost two years now. pulling around a gas pump to get to the other side, that kind of thing. it seems to happen more if i've been riding at speed for a while. i wouldn't argue with the others guys, but my belt is way too loose, so make sure to post up what you find.

#5 · (Edited)