How I adjusted my PC3usb w/o a dyno - Road Star Warrior Forum : Yamaha Star Warrior Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-14-2011, 12:11 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default How I adjusted my PC3usb w/o a dyno

I'm not a mechanic, so nothing can beat a dyno run, so procede with caution. I care more about the ride, than I do about #'s

I gotta give credit, where its due. I have to thank Caledonian Warrior for the Trim Value tip in my posting.

Take a look at this posting, 1st.

https://www.rswarrior.com/forums/13-technical-discussion/173001-will-ecu-bump-enhace-pc3-usb-settings.html

This is what I ended up doing.

1st, you have to have a map you feel confident with. I didn't, so, I compared all the Dyno-Jet Warrior maps, which was closest to my bike set up. 2008, Roadhouse slip-on, Speedstar Intake, Passenger Peg Relocation Kit,

These are the maps I played with, (the one that was loaded into the PC3 by fuel moto, Voodoo Logic-666),( Zero Map 403-000), (Stock 403-001), (Bub Slip-on stock air filter 403-017), (D&D slip-on stock air filter 403-007).

I decided to go back to old school tuning, by reading the plugs. Being Consistant, testing on the same roads, same distance and checking fuel mileage after every test.

I figured,
Full throttle, 100% TPS equals Main Jet,
Cruizing, Constant Speed, Partial TP equal, Needle Jet / Jet Needle.
Idle is equal to Idle Jet.

Start with the map you have, do a plug check. I checked the easy ones, L/H plugs. With Voodoo Logic-666, plugs white hot lean. Bike ran like crap.

Then I went to stock, 403-001, bike still ran lean, However comparing the maps, I knew this one was richer.

Then I went to 403-017, bike ran rich, but crazy fast at higher RPM's and T/P's. Poor fuel mileage, but crazy fast fun. Compared the maps again and this one is quit a bit richer than -001.

Then I went to 403-007, Bike ran perfect, smooth as silk, rear plug perfect, front plug just a little too lean for my liking.