RS Warrior Forum banner

ECU adjust (with pics)

80K views 119 replies 57 participants last post by  ThingFish 
#1 ·
For all those that don't have the PCIII (all three of us) here is my little, simple way of adjusting the ECU. By the way, rswarrior.com, Yamaha Motorcycles, and I take no responsibility for you frying your ECU by following these instructions. Follow them at your own risk. I am not a professional mechanic, and I do NOT use really big words to describe the things I do. So if you have any questions feel free to ask away.

First pull off the seat, and little foam thing from under your seat and that will expose the ECU.

Insert Image:

47.92 KB
Insert Image:

53.21 KB

Free up the little retaining strap from the ECU and then locate wire #27 and #29 in the harness. These two wires will come free from the bundle if you give them a little pull. Note: Don't try and pull them out of the harness itself, just the taped up bundle of wires! You will notice that wire 27 and 29 are actually just a loop wire that tells the ECU which mode to operate in. BTW, the wire will be yellow with a red stripe down it.
Insert Image:

54.8 KB

Now for the fun stuff... First, don't remove the harness from the ECU. There is no need to and it really just slows things down. Take a pair of wire cutters and cut the wire in half and then install a pair insulated quick disconnects. I got a pack of them from Lowes for less than $2.

Next, make yourself a little jumper cable out of an alligator clip, piece of wire, and a matching quick disconnect to mate up to pin #29.
Insert Image:

41.69 KB

Attach the jumper to pin #29 and then attach the alligator clip to some part of the frame. I use the helmet lock thingy (yep, technical term). Yes, pin #27 will have nothing plugged into it for this portion of the adjustment.
Insert Image:

52.12 KB