RS Warrior Forum banner

Fork Seal Change

14K views 16 replies 11 participants last post by  WarriorPlt 
#1 ·
There is already one version of a fork seal change here http://www.rswarrior.com/forums/21-how-tos-general-maintenance-tips/133571-how-install-new-fork-seals.html I thought to do an updated version with pics that work. Some of the writing I will just copy and paste while updating with my own info

I am not a proffesional just a learn on the fly mechanical guy so take this for what it is. Its what I dont right or wrong it seems to been working.

1) First remove the front fork covers. These are the plastic guards positioned on the front of the fork at the very bottom.
2) Remove the fender.
3) Remove the brake calipers.
4) Remove the pinch bolt (screw) in the bottom of the right fork assembly. It's there to pinch the bottom of that assembly and lock in the front axle.
5) Remove the axle and front wheel.
6) Loosen the upper bracket (triple tree) pinch bolts.
7) While holding onto the fork, loosen the lower bracket pinch bolts and slide the fork assembly out.

Now you need to break loose the lower tube assembly from the upper. In the bottom of the fork you will see a socket screw down deep in the assembly. It's better to have an air operated tool to break these loose, but I was able to do it on a piece of carpet with the tools shown below.

3/8" Ratchet with 3" extension
10mm Hex Key socket

8) Insert the 10mm hex socket into the hole until you can feel it engage in the bolt thats down there.
Since I didn't have air tools to break loose the socket screw in the bottom of the assembly, I simply laid it on a piece of carpet, placed my foot on the bottom of the assembly (black section) to steady it and simply stepped down quickly with my other foot on the ratchet. It took me a couple tries to get this to work but it eventually did work. It broke loose.