RS Warrior Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2003 Yamaha Road Star Warrior XV1700
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I was starting to piece out my vbak and realized I have a 3d printer and can print nylon and ABS, so i was thinking... why cant I just print out parts of the VBAK the OEM airbox and intake is ABS as far as I can tell so if I printed it out of ABS/ASA it should be able to withstand to the same temps, and with proper post processing i shouldnt have to worry all that much about it falling apart.

I'm able to design stuff up in cad... but I've got no experience when it comes to airflow and intakes and all that, so is there anything i should keep in mind when designing the parts?

I believe that the inner walls should be as smooth as possible so that the air flows properly, but is there anything else I'm missing? Also is there anything i should add like venturis, or a connecting tube between the two intakes or something like that? I was thinking of plumbing back in the air intake temp sensors and potentially the hoses for the LCV into the intake runners so that they can still do their job as intended if that makes any difference

i have proper steel header pipe on the way, but something is just making me wanna print them, so yeah how bad of an idea is this?

·
Premium Member
'05 Midnight
3,085 Posts
There's only one way to know... Keep us posted!

Also, I like the idea of getting the intake temp sensors back into the actual intakes. I wonder if that would actually make a difference.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
There's only one way to know... Keep us posted!

Also, I like the idea of getting the intake temp sensors back into the actual intakes. I wonder if that would actually make a difference.
Im wondering the same thing, in theory the intake temp sensors being mounted near the intakes shouldnt make too much of a difference but when there is that air flow around it, it could have a cooling effect,