RS Warrior Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 2008 warrior is putting out blue smoke. Can't afford mechanic any suggestions on how to repair or what is wrong?

·
Registered
3,546 Posts
little more info please. when does it smoke? just at start up? everytime you start it or just when its cold? while idling or also when riding? how much smoke are we talking? a poof or is it leaving a smoke screen behind you? dies it smell like gas or like something burt?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
When first cranked I have none or very little smoke but as it warms the smoke starts too role. Have not rode since issue has started just crank and let idle, smoke is blue in color. Not really a big gas smell, more of a burnt smell.

·
Registered
97 Posts
So, blue smoke usually is burning oil. I am not an expert, but often two chief sources are piston rings or value guides. I am not sure if there are other ways for oil to be introduced into the combustion chamber. Someone with more experience on the matter will contribute before long. It would probably be a good idea to have compression checked.

·
Registered
1,079 Posts
How long have you had this bike and what is its history? Did you recently change the oil or add oil to it? The warrior has very specific steps for checking the oil level.

·
Registered
1,079 Posts
For continuity of anyone searching this thread here's the link to checking the oil properly.

·
Registered
1,079 Posts
I talked with the OP via direct message and when he pulled the dipstick on the bike cold it's halfway up the stick. sounds like he's definitely over full.

Reactions: arizonawarrior

·
Administrator
30,091 Posts