RS Warrior Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody! Newbie here. Just picked up my Indigo Warrior last Tuesday. What a blast! I'm new to motorcycling, and I spent half the summer on a V-Star 1100 (now my girlfriend's bike). What a difference!

Anyway, since I'm still a rookie rider, I don't think I need to get into the performance mods just yet. So I'm thinking about appearance stuff, specifically black chrome (hence the topic name). I think changing some or all of the chrome parts to black chrome would make the bike look even more bad-ass than it already looks. What I'm looking for from y'all is to give me some good reasons why this is a bad idea (extra credit points if you have actual first-hand experience with the stuff), like it costs a fortune, it's not as durable as "regular" chrome, it costs a fortune, Harley riders will call me names, it costs a fortune, etc.
Or you can encourage me so that I will be the guinea pig to lay out big bucks to do this, and report back on why it's a bad idea. Your call. [/emoticons/emotion-5.gif]
Thanks everybody!

Doug

P.S. Any Warrior owners from Minnesota here?

·
Registered
4,104 Posts
i guess i am new to this! what the HE11 is "black chrome"? i never heard of it! as far as the harley riders calling you names, all of the ones i have encounted are to busy wiping the drool off from their chins!

·
Registered
700 Posts
Can you find anyone who still does black chrome? I was toying around with the idea of painting some of the chromed plastic parts black, but was concened about the look.

Kinda liked the midnight Yamaha from the early eighties.

·
Registered
756 Posts
Welcome Douggo.

You'll probly have a hard time finding a chrome shop that still does Black Chrome work. EPA regs has almost put a stop to it.

Your best bet is probly Powder Coating. Not near as nice as Black Chrome...but still nice!

·
Registered
700 Posts
Douggo,