RS Warrior Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi im new to the site and my 07 warrior. i installed sampson ground pounder pipes and it seems like it developed a hard engine brake on de-cell. is that because of the pipes or is that the nature of this engine? i dont really know because i rode it a couple miles from the dealership and ripped it apart to mod it up so i have zero stock experience with this bike. also what kind of pipe do you guys reccomend for making the best hp?? thanks brent

·
Registered
2,256 Posts
I haven't heard other pipes do that. My Samson Street Sweepers do the same thing. I love it. It is the coolest thing about those pipes! I just put a2-1 system on, and I lost the jake brake.... I miss it already.

·
Registered
8,292 Posts
Its a big engine but it depends on what gear your inwhen your decellerating.

How many miles on the bike? New units are rather tight & need some miles to break in.

Suggest a bit more seat time to become familiar with the machine.

2X1 pipes make the best power. Propipe. Muzzy, Speed star.

·
Registered
1,686 Posts
It sounds to me like you're running open pipes. Is it extremely loud? Did you lode HP's after the install?

I also have the Ground Pounders on my bike. If I run straight pipes without any type of baffle I lose power and it is VERY loud. I bought a set of 10" baffles form a friend of mine and cut them down to 5" each, then 4" each. I should have left it at 4-1/2" but too late now. The bike has good back pressure with a louder exhaust note than with the 10" baffles installed. In fact, the 10" baffles gave me way too much back pressure, quieted the bike and I lost power. I love the looks of these pipes and now I love the performance and exhaust note.

Good luck!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5