RS Warrior Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this is a total noob question, but what kind of battery tender do I need? They make one (battery tender plus) for a lead acid type battery and one for a gel type battery. I have the svr 14 in my bike.

Also, I have a cheapo style charger. It is a Schumaker 1.5 amp slow charge Battery Companion. It says it isa fully automatic battery charger/maintainer with float-mode monitoring for 6 & 12 volt lead acid batteries. Will this work for winterizing purposes? By winterizing I mean pulling the battery and keeping it connected throughout the cold months.

Thanks in advance for your help.

sk

·
Registered
670 Posts
I'm using the battery tender plus right now. I like it because you can leave it on and connected 24 hours a day and you don't have to worry about frying anything.

·
Registered
4,413 Posts
Bought a Schumacher charger at Advance Auto Parts for $30 bucks or so. It's automatic so it knows when to charge and when to stop. Quick disconnect wires hang out from under the seat. I plug it in after every ride - until the next ride.

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Scoper50 said:
I'm using the battery tender plus right now. I like it because you can leave it on and connected 24 hours a day and you don't have to worry about frying anything.

But which one? They make a battery tender plus for both lead acid and gel styles? The svr 14 is an amg style, I believe, and I'm not sure which one to get or if the schumacker that I have will work.

Thanks

·
Registered
3,176 Posts
+1

Scoper50 said:

·
Registered
65 Posts