RS Warrior Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

I recently started riding last year i bought a 1982 honda nighthawk 450 off my father in-law. this bike however not very sporty or stylish but runs and has allowed me to devlop basic riding skills. I would rather wreck then tear up a brand new bike. however now i am ready either this or next year to get a new bike. I saw the warrior at a local dealership and this is an awesome looking bike. I have looked at the v-rod and some other "comprable" bikes.I am still leaning towards the warrior. I am trying get some feed back on common problems and any helpful tips. Is there any big differences in a between belt, shaft and chain powered bikes.
I do not know alot about motorcyles but I love to ride so any information or comments would be appreciated

thanks

·
Registered
7,695 Posts
Hello there Rev.

Generally there is ALOT less maintenance with a belt driven bike, no oil or grease to worry about either as there is with chain & shaft drive. Obviously for this reason it's alot cleaner round the back end too (my back end is always nice and shiny [/emoticons/emotion-3.gif)]). I also find that there is less regular adjustment needed with belt drive as there seems to be alot less stretching than a chain. When they snap though they are expensive but I haven't had one go on me yet and I've had my Warrior for nearly 3 years.

Chain drives are better for performance though and you can get chain drive conversions for your Warrior if you intend to race (drag) it. Personally I couldn't be doing with all that yukky oil again.

Anyway, welcome once again and good luck with your hunt for a Warrior.

·
Registered
2,355 Posts