RS Warrior Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,725 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been keeping a close eye on the Items for sale section for the last few weeks, as I am making a few changes to the bike and have been looking out for original and aftermarket parts.

I have noticed that in the majority of posts, the seller has also listed the item on ebay.

Now.... I can only really speak for the ebay UK/Europe listings, (I have some experience having made over 320 transactions over the years) - but once something has been put up for sale, it can not (easily) be removed prior to the end of the listing - or sold "on the side" without breaking the ebay rules.

So... now is the time to shoot me down if this does not apply on your side of the pond!

Ok....

Once we decide that we need to sell an item, we are invariably impatient to get the $$$$ - fair enough.... but the way I see it is that, once an item is listed on ebay it effectively cuts out any chance of somebody buying the item without going through the ebay procedures - there is no place for discussion - the seller ends up paying fees and all the other related bull...etc etc.

My suggestion would be that perhaps it would be nice to at least offer the item on the forum for a few days before going through ebay.

At least give the forum members get the chance to get their hands on something that perhaps they have been desperate for!

Why go through another system, when you have a captive audience right here? I

Also as an added bonus, it's a great feeling knowing that you've helped another forum member too!

This is not aimed at any particular individuals - it is a general observation.

Just my thoughts.....

What do you think - am I wrong?

·
Registered
2,256 Posts
Well... I understand what you're getting at, but with one click of the mouse I can end an auction on ebay. I usually let the public know that I'm also selling the item privately, and that the auction may end at any time.