RS Warrior Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
406 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Picked up an 04 a few weeks ago. Got it into the dealer yesterday for new tires, recall work, and a few other things as the bike is at 16k miles. Well, the dealer informed me that the air filter under the tank was not stock and it was too small. Therefore, my engine was getting some unfiltered air. That scares the heck out of me. Anyway, they had just done a filter change on another Warrior and they said the filter out of that bike was still in good shape, so they slapped it in my bike (no charge). They didn't have a new one in stock and told me I should probably put a new filter in there soon. Now, I'm no mechanic...but if the engine was getting unfiltered air, isn't that REALLY bad? The shop didn't seem that concerned about it. But, now I guess I'm trying to decide if I should hold off dropping anymore money into this thing.
One other thing, after I picked the bike up, once it was warm, it was really falling on it's face off the line. I had to adjust the idle up. I have the Cobra fi2000. Would it make sense that air flow might be a little more restricted now and I might be running a little rich? Sorry for the long post. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
271 Posts
The air filter under the tank is the second filter the air goes thru, a "silencer" filter if you will! So, if your intake air filter is intact I wouldn't be worried.

·
Registered
2,658 Posts
quote:Originally posted by head_deacon

The air filter under the tank is the second filter the air goes thru, a "silencer" filter if you will! So, if your intake air filter is intact I wouldn't be worried.

You might want to take another look at that.

·
Registered
7,695 Posts