RS Warrior Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, please help me out if you can.

I'm a new rider alltogether...I used to ride a JR50 as a kid, but that's been a long time.

I really *LOVE* the looks of the warrior, and fortunately, if I choose it, I can get it.

I'm 26, and am 6' tall 220 lbs.

Do you all feel like, even though I'm new to cycles that I could handle this bike? I know it's a 1700cc (or there about), and super powerful, but could I handle it if I don't give it crazy amounts of throttle?

Other bikes just don't look as nice.

-Shane

·
Super Moderator
13,703 Posts
There are members here that have NEVER ridden a motorcycle before and started with a Warrrior, so it can be done. Personally, I would recommend something smaller and more damanagable to start with.

·
Registered
41 Posts
I always tell first time street bike buyers... buy a piece of crap, take it out to an empty parking lot, and just drop it already and get it over with (you *will* drop your first bike within the first 90 days). Then get used to street riding for a few months, get a few more drops out of the way, and only then go and buy your dream bike.

·
Registered
293 Posts
Agreed, the torque on this monster is nutz! To say you'll go "easy" on the throttle is a lie. The first time you're at a stop light you'll love roasting who ever is next to you. It can be done, but I'd suggest a riders course (you could get your license that way). I've ridden with guys that bought their warrior as a "first bike". Let's just say that you can "tell" that it's thier first bike. I started with a 250cc, then a 500cc, then a new 600cc, then the warrior. I think you should follow suit. Even if you only owned each bike for a month and moved on. You'd have a warrior in 4 months with a lot of lessons learned. Good Luck!

·
Registered
1,519 Posts