RS Warrior Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
335 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Took me a bit but very rewarding.
I had in my mind about what sound I was looking for as well as looking mean and powerful.

I started off by trying out a shortened Cherry Bomb glass pack with 2.5” inlet and outlet. The Cherry Bomb is inside the big pipe.

Next I picked up a 5” turn out exhaust stack, aluminized only.
Played around with some exhaust pipe fittings, cutting and grinding until I got a good fit.

Next comes the Tig welder, grinding wheel and paint.

just a quick note,
This is the first time in my life I have ever used a welder for steel. I’ve been a commercial HVAC mechanic for just over 30 years and I can weld the snot out of copper pipe with oxy-acetylene so I do have a good understanding of heat and what’s needed to join pieces of metal. Welds were ugly but good and deep with minimal porosity. Cutting the alumized coating off took a good while.

And ... a good retired friend of mine gave me the Tig welder for free, so what the heck.
Git er done.

I did nothing real fancy and at anytime the slip on can be removed and put back to stock by re-installing the original muff brackets.

Also, while down there, I picked up a matching Galfer rear brake line. Now both front and rear brake lines match.

She’s got a real good tone, at idle she sounds like a big V-Twin. At wide open throttle she’s louder than #%^*!
But not loud to me since the sound goes back and away from the rider.

·
Registered
595 Posts
am I seeing this correct? did you attach the bracket on your muffler to the same bolt as your rear brake?

·
Premium Member
8,761 Posts
^^^ …. That's not going to last long at all. The swing arm is a dynamic suspension component and pivots constantly!
  • You'll want to attach your muffler bracket to the bike frame with the existing (2) M10 tapped holes you've plugged.

·
Registered
335 Posts
Discussion Starter #7