RS Warrior Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there, Warrior owners. I'm not even new yet becuase I don't own a Warrior, but I hope to be, soon! I started riding motorcycles about a month ago and outgrew my "loaner" bike far more quickly than my friends anticipated.

I'm a lifelong gearhead and four years ago, my dad and I built a 408 Windsor motor for a Shelby Cobra replica that we've been beating on ever since. Hard to believe it's been that long.

I've always wanted to get into riding but have always deferred to the safety concerns of my loved ones.

After some recent family deaths and health issues that all happened far too young, I decided that you only live once, and that I could be hit by a bus tomorrow driving my car. In short, stuff happens, and you can't control everything.

I've been borrowing (and paying for) a friend of a friend's Honda Shadow 750, which has been a good learning bike, I suppose...at least that's how it was billed. My friend has a VTX1800 that I've ridden about 150 miles, now, and I feel far more comfortable on it. Its overall heft and handlebar configuration are much better for my size (6'2" 250#).

My first day out, I spent a few hours at Rick Roush in Cleveland with my other riding friends and looked at the VTXs, M109s, and Warriors, and immediately fell in love with the Warrior. I want something that is the 2-wheel equivalent of the Cobra. Obnoxious, torquey, great looker, and isn't a total pig for handling.

I'm looking to find a couple-year-old Warrior around here (Cleveland) with some miles on it that will put me in the 8-9k range.

Blew the better part of today just reading this forum and was happy to see the loads of great info. I'm a discussion forum veteran with about 10,000 posts split between a couple of discussion forums for Cobras, and will have to adapt to the rules quickly, here. [8D]