RS Warrior Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
670 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I went to the Hitching Post today (The dealership where I bought my bike) to get some oil anda filter for my first 600 mile oil change. The manual says to use 20W 40. The parts guy says that yamaha doesn't make yamalube in 20W 40 anymore. He recommended 10W 40. I bought five quarts of it, but I havent put it in yet. I am a mechanic by trade, but I am a professional, and I'm required to put whatever oil a specific machine requires which is recommended by the manufacturer. I don't know a whole lot about different weights of oil, and I don't want to start a huge debate about it, but if somebody out there does know a lot about oil, I'd like to know if the 10W 40 is ok to put in this bike, or should I return it and find what the manual recommends somewhere else? I don't trust parts guys. I've worked as a mechanic at auto dealerships and in fleet operations, and most of them don't know crap about anything. I trust you guys more then that guy.

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
My stealership said the same thing. I asked for a full synthetic oil at the last oil change and they put in 10w40 silkolene. Something I never heard of but after some research the stuff is supposed to be good stuff. I still question the 10w40 weight but its been about 3500 miles since the change and the bike runsextremely smooth. Plus itds still pretty clear when I check the level.

·
Registered
692 Posts
I had a similar experience, went to get oil and filter for the bike from the dealer, grabbed 5qts of what I thought was 20/50 and when I got home I had 5qts of 10/40. Put it in anyhow, and so far no issue, been about 500 miles. That being said I'll be watching this post to see if I'll be performing another oil change soon

·
Registered
922 Posts