RS Warrior Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So it seems I have once again looked in the wrong place for my issue. I replaced a starter relay and when I fired up the bike it didn't sound right at all. After tearing through a huge list I found out im am idiot. It seems the brand new relay was faulty so the starter remained on the entire time the engine was running. Unfortunately I don't really have baffles so the pipes overpowered the noise of the starter. The starter is not damaged thankfully. I am new to these bikes . The bike did backfire and spit flames when I first started it and it sounded horrible. Is there anything that could have been damaged by the starter running.? I did let it idol for a decent amount of time while trying to figure out what the sound was.....

·
Premium Member
1,263 Posts
I have had my starter stay running once like that.
If your starter still works then there probably isnt much more to do. Mine did it once and I didnt change the relay right away and never had another problem with it.

FYI these starters have a tendency to have the magnets come unglued. I think it happens from heat. The glue that holds the magnets in gets weak with heat, my theory. So if you try starting it sometimes and nothing happens, the starter doesnt spin over, that could be the problem a magnet came loose and jammed the starter up.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have had my starter stay running once like that.
If your starter still works then there probably isnt much more to do. Mine did it once and I didnt change the relay right away and never had another problem with it.

FYI these starters have a tendency to have the magnets come unglued. I think it happens from heat. The glue that holds the magnets in gets weak with heat, my theory. So if you try starting it sometimes and nothing happens, the starter doesnt spin over, that could be the problem a magnet came loose and jammed the starter up.