RS Warrior Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Went for a decent ride today and it's hot out, anyway I noticed a very concerning noise coming from in the motor case by the starter sounds like scraping of metal parts or a bearing going, doesn't do it when it's cool. Starter clutch or something in the starter gearing, like and iideler gear, any one every here this and do you know if it needs attention

·
Registered
553 Posts
Mine use to sound like a chaff cutter when starting. Eventually my starter motor karked it ( have pics in my gallery ). When it was removed it showed that the magnets had disintegrated. I had been riding the bike for about 3 months and the mechanic said it had been going for a long time. If I had had a Warrior for a couple of year I would have known the weird sound, but I didn’t. Finding a replacement here in Oz was impossible however, there were some SM that said they were for warriors but they weren’t. So my local Yamaha dealer order a brand new one from Japan. Lucky for me it was warranty work as that SM cost $1,000AUD & retailed first $1,280AUD. As you can see if you can’t find one at a wreckers going new might be the only option. When you convert my figures it will be cheaper in the US, but still expensive. I hope this all helps.

·
Registered
638 Posts
damm that's spendy mate.. mine gave up a cople of years ago, i replaced it with an aftermarket for a wild/roadstar.. which aparantly has more power than the original. couple of years late.. it's still going just fine.. and only cost me $100-150 or so

·
Premium Member
1,238 Posts