RS Warrior Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started taking my rear tire / swing arm apart today in preparation for sending it out for Big Tire Mods. As I was disassembling the hub, I ran into problems removing the oil seal and needle bearing. Though I was using a "hook" type oil seal removal tool, I still managed to screw up the oil seal, so I'm going to have to replace that. I got the ball bearing out of the inner side of the hub, but when I tried to remove the needle bearing, I ran into problems. There wasn't anything to 'grab' onto with pullers, just a very small lip on the inner race. Instead, I tried to "tap" the bearing out from the back side using snucking fitting socket. Weeeelllllll, that didn't work too well, after a few manly taps, i started shooting needles out the bottom of the hub - bummer! I know the price of bearings and seals is small in comparison to the price of the fat tire kit, but I'd still rather not needlessly fork over that $.

Does anyone have any good tips on bearing and seal removal before I start taking them out of the rear wheel?

·
Premium Member
16,372 Posts
Yes, it is called a Blind Bearing Puller.....

Dennis Kirk and any other reputable motorcycle specific tool vendor sells what you need to properly remove the bearings without damage. Research.

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ahhhhh...thx! I remember these now....yep, i bet this would have worked! I should have stopped and asked the 4m before i wasted my bearing.

·
Registered
2,760 Posts