RS Warrior Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,597 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings all. After years of admiring them, and repeatedly "building my own" online, I am proud to say that I am a newbie Warrior owner. Bought myself a red 2006 Warrior almost 4 weeks ago, with about 5k miles on it. I absolutely love it.

I've also enjoyed reading this forum. Lots of great information.

I bought a warranty with the bike. Paid $799 for a 2 year warranty. I don't feel too bad about this because it's a used bike, and although it appears to have received excellent care from its original owner, I don't want any troubles with it during the next couple years.

My real question/concern, is the $2100 that I paid for a 3 year service agreement. Supposedely this plan completely covers all parts and labor associated with the next 6 major manufacturer recommended services, along with the next 6 minor services (oil changes), and up to 2 new batteries. Or 3 years, whichever of these comes first. Of course, the dealer showed me how much all of these services would cost if I paid out of pocket for them, and I'm supposedly saving myself about $1000 over the next 3 years, by purchasing this service plan.

Thoughts? Have I been ripped off? Seems really pricey to me, but maybe that's just how much it costs to maintain my new Warrior for three years? It's been less than one month, so I can still cancel the service plan and get a full refund.

Regardless, I'll follow the recommended maintenance schedule. I'd either get the work done at a reputable dealer, or do some of the simple stuff myself (oil change, plugs, etc.).

I appreciate anyone's opinions on this, of whether I should stick with the service plan I've purchased, or cancel it and pay out of pocket.

Thanks all. Love my Warrior!

·
Registered
7,924 Posts