RS Warrior Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright I did a little searching but don't have much time this evening it's after 10 and I have to be up for work at 4am. So I just got my Christmas present V-bak kit from Church. Oh Church thanks for working with my friend and sending the V-bak out for me. I plan on installing this weekend and do not have a PCIII as of yet. I know the decision on what to adjust the ECU to is up to you and the way your bike runs but like I said in the Subject line I smell unburned gas from time to time like when I sit at a stop light for an extened time and then get on it when I pull off. Would this mean that I might need to tone down the fuel or what? Sorry I didn't search longer but I need to get my backside in bed. Thanks for the replys that I'm sure I'll get.

Zach

·
Registered
2,602 Posts
I'm by no means an expert in combustible engines, but I do know that even modern cars if sitting idle can smell somewhat rich if you go sniffing in the back. As for the Warrior, while there is a warm-up enrichment period (service manual pp 1-18 thru 1-25), there is no extra fuel that is dumped during prolonged periods of idle. Even with a custom map and a "perfect" A/F ratio, my bike still smells rich, just sitting around thumping up and down.

As for the ECU adjust and the VBAK, I would initially go with Woody's recommendation for your setup, and then go from there by adjusting for how the bike feels while riding and checking the plugs. Ultimately a PCIII comes in handy, nit just for the increased HP and TQ that could be dialed in, but the ability to improve drivability and the smoothness of the throttle response.

·
Registered
156 Posts
$10 - $12K motorcycle (new), $220 vbak... Spend the $500 for a PCIII and dyno tune. Do it right or stay stock. My two cents- as unpopular as that may be... I just don't think that is where you save a couple hundre bucks.

Penny wise- pound foolish.

·
Registered