RS Warrior Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i hope im in the right spot. removed my stock tail light and wanted to put one over my side mount tag. bought a cheap trailer light and it wouldent work. when i hooked up two of the three wires it came on but when i applied the brakes nothing happend. what im gettin at is how do i make it work with just two wires. i have searched ebay and 99% of the custom tail lights they sell only have two wires. do i need to do something to the harness or the light itself? any help at all would be great. thanks.

·
Registered
167 Posts
I am not that good with electrics but my guess is that on the three wire one is ground, one is running light and the third is brake light. If your new light only has two wires then my guess is that the housing or base of it is the ground so you would have to attach the old ground to the new light somehow. Hope somebody with more know-how chimes in.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
that sounds like it could work but the light i got had a plastic housing. i have three wires from the warrior, black, blue and yellow. when i connect the black from the light and the black from the bike and the red from the light and the blue from the bike, it lights up. but i cant get it to get brighter when i hit the brakes. do i need to pop open the light and solder on an extra wire to something? thanks.

·
Registered
167 Posts