RS Warrior Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
479 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I know there is alot of information(pages and pages). I cannot find a clear answer to this. I did an oil change the other day. I have not ridden it yet(been working on LED lights). I removed both of the large drain plugs 17mm I think. I replaced the filter and filled it up, started for 15 secs, then filled to the appropriate level. My question is did I also drain the transfer case?? I know that the tranny and engine run on the same oil, and that the transfer case is seperate. Do I need to fill the transfer case now?? The two drain plugs were located: 1 was on the left side toward the front, and the other was on the right side near the rear shock. Thanks for any help.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Im a newbie here but i just changed my oil for the first time. and no you didnt change the transfer case oil. the 2 bolts you unscrewed are the correct ones for the oil. but to drain the transfer case oil you have to remove the exhaust. thats about all I know like i said im new here/emoticons/emotion-1.gif

·
Premium Member
13,680 Posts
Small bolt head, 12mm socket, under the T-case, to drain. Then you fill through the large round slotted cover on the side of the T-case, right side of the bike.

·
Registered
2,468 Posts
the answer is no, you haven't drain the transfer case oil. see this thread for how to and pictures: http://www.rswarrior.com/forums/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=786

·
Registered
59 Posts
I just changed my transfer case oil (transfer gear oil) last night. Like everyone has said, you did not change the transfer oil. You have to remove the exhaust, there is really no way to do the change without removing it. The thread has pretty good instructions, I used the instructions in the service manual, very easy to follow. If you have any specific questions, PM me since the procedure is fresh in my head.

·
Registered
8,244 Posts